One is not Always the Loneliest Number

20150224_111400

I’ve been running between school, work, and coffee dates with friends all week.  I have one day off, I haven’t filled it with friends or large plans.  It’s not that I don’t want to see my friends or spend time with them, I just have chosen to spend my day off recharging and reconnecting with me.

My morning will be spent in bed reading a romance novel on my kindle, once I manage to roll out of bed I’m going to get ready to spend a relaxing afternoon at the beach with an iced tea from my favorite local coffee shop and a Pandora playlist chosen just for this event.

There is something refreshing about having a few hours to myself.  I enjoy being left alone with my thoughts.  Sitting on the edge of the water on an empty beach gives me clarity.  These moments are few and far between, I have learned to treasure them.  Being alone, having time to think, allowing myself to relax and live in a moment gives me strength to recharge and helps me deal with the stress from school and relationships (both friendships and significant others).

Ever since I was a kid, I’ve needed time alone.  Even just a few hours in my room away from everything helped me relax.  I find it necessary and yes, even enjoyable to be alone.  My thoughts don’t frighten me, I don’t try to drown them with noise or people, I prefer to face my problems head on.  Spend a bit of time in my own head solving any issue I may have.

I have recently discovered that I seem to be in the minority of people who treasure time alone.  Many of my friends and classmates seem determined to spend as little time alone as possible.  They are defined by their friends or significant other.  When we talk, it seems they have little sense of who they are, what defines them, or even what they truly want.  Relationships define people’s desires and shapes who they are.

Alone time, for me at least, leads to a self-discovery of sort.  I need to feel grounded in my own ideals before I can be surrounded by others.  There is nothing wrong with going out with friends or being with a significant other, I just really believe that spending time alone is good for the soul.

Go out, discover a place that resonates with your soul.  Use that place to reconnect with yourself and don’t be afraid to get lost in your own thoughts.  You might be surprised by what you discover.

2 thoughts on “One is not Always the Loneliest Number

Leave a Reply

